Sarah Small

I always find it interesting when photographers solely concentrate and composition rather than light. But I think sometimes artists feel it is necessary to keep lighting simple to create images that look like they occurred in everyday light.

The majority of the images from Sahra Smalls Portfolio are from an ongoing photographic series exploring disassociations brought together into the same space. The photographer examines human interactions with one another and with animals without reference to environmental cues or social markers like occupation, class and revealing context.

While many of these scenarios are staged, the emotions that result; uneasiness, curiosity, sensuality, hysteria,are spontaneously captured and authentically experienced. I find the images a bit disturbing sometimes but I don’t know quite why but I seem to feel a sinister underlying theme to the images.

untitled-11

Visit Sarah Small website

~ by escaperoots on April 19, 2009.

Leave a comment